Hiroshima Art Prize


About the Hiroshima Art Prize

Alfredo Jaar Photo by Jee Eun Esther Jang

Established by the City of Hiroshima in 1989, the Hiroshima Art Prize recognizes the achievements of artists who have contributed to the peace of humanity in the field of contemporary art, and through contemporary art aims to appeal to a wider world and the spread of the “Spirit of Hiroshima,” which seeks everlasting world peace. This prize is awarded once every three years.

Profile of Alfredo Jaar

Mr. Alfredo Jaar confronts in a journalistic manner historical events, tragedies and social inequalities that have occurred worldwide based on thorough research and interviews. He conveys to audiences social, political and humanitarian issues through the presentation of his work in public spaces, photography, film and beautiful installations that appeal to all five senses coupled with the use of constructed spaces.
During his almost forty year-long career, he has participated in a number of international exhibitions including the Biennales of Venice and São Paulo, and Documenta, as well as having exhibited solo in museums across the world, which has earned him international acclaim.

About Hiroshima Art Prize

The 7th Hiroshima Art Prize CAI GUO-QIANG, 2008
Unmanned Garden

The 9th Hiroshima Art Prize Doris Salcedo, 2008
Plegaria Muda

The 10th Hiroshima Art Prize MONA HATOUM, 2017
Remains of the Day


This project aims to honor the achievements of artists and extol the possibilities of contemporary art and expression by awarding the Hiroshima Art Prize to the candidate who best expresses the “Spirit of Hiroshima.” A subsequent solo exhibition of the winner’s work will be held at the Hiroshima City Museum of Contemporary Art, which will increase awareness of both the artist’s work and the mission of the Hiroshima Art Prize and its significance.

Past recipients

  • The 1st: Issey Miyake (fashion/ Awarded in 1989)
  • The 2nd: Robert Rauschenberg (fine art/ Awarded in 1992)
  • The 3rd: Leon Golub and Nancy Spero (fine art/ Awarded in 1995)
  • The 4th: Krzysztof Wodiczko (fine art/ Awarded in 1998)
  • The 5th: Daniel Libeskind (architecture/ Awarded in 2001)
  • The 6th: Shirin Neshat (fine art/ Awarded in 2004)
  • The 7th: Cai Guo-Qiang (fine art/ Awarded in 2007)
  • The 8th: Yoko Ono (fine art/ Awarded in 2010)
  • The 9th: Doris Salcedo (fine art/ Awarded in 2013)
  • The 10th: Mona Hatoum (fine art/ Awarded in 2015)

Selection criteria

  • An individual or a group actively engaged in art worldwide (two-dimensional, three-dimensional, design, fashion, etc.)
  • An individual or a group engaged in creative activities related to the “Spirit of Hiroshima” or peace, and whose achievements are considered to correspond to the purpose of the Hiroshima Art Prize.
  • An individual or a group whose achievements are considered to be appropriate for exhibition.
  • There are no restrictions on nationality or age.

Selection procedures

The artists recommended by the Hiroshima Art Prize Candidates Recommending Committee, consisting of museum directors and art critics from various countries, are presented to the Hiroshima Art Prize Candidates Selecting Committee, made up of Japanese museum directors and art critics, and the prospective winners are selected. Based on the result of the selection, the Hiroshima Art Prize Recipient Selecting Council makes the selection of the prize winner.

Event Calendar